naked Castle History

In 1910, during his 45-years in China, Scottish missionary doctor Duncan Main built a British style castle villa (now The Castle of naked Castle). He spurred medical advancements in Hangzhou and spread a healthy lifestyle concept, the ripples of which can still be felt today. The second owner was a national patriot and former chairman of Zhejiang, Zhang Jingjiang, who was dubbed a “Revolutionary Saint” by Sun Yatsen. The two men never met, but each inspired people during turbulent times, contributing to a legendary Moganshan tale.

Dr. Main’s Love for Moganshan

Dr. Duncan Main, was born on June 6, 1856 in Edinburgh, Scotland. After he graduated from medical school in 1881, then the British Christian Mission Society arranged to send him to China. Dr. Main and his new wife, Florence Nightingale Smith, then headed to Hangzhou.

In 1910, at the age of 55, Dr. Main purchased 75 mu of land on Paotai Mountain on which he built a British style castle villa (the predecessor to The Castle at naked Castle). The plot included a tennis court, swimming pool and long walking trails. Due to the lack of medical resources on Moganshan at that time, the villa became a remote hospital to treat locals. In 1926, the 71-year-old Dr. Main retired to Scotland. In total, he founded more than 30 hospitals, medical schools and shelters. The Hospital of Universal Benevolence, where he was originally posted, had 3 functional operating rooms and could treat 4,000 patients at a time. It was the most advanced, in terms of technology and business administration, western medicine hospital in China. On August 30, 1934, Dr. Main passed away. His tomb in Scotland was engraved with the Chinese words “仁爱而劳”, meaning “Labour of Love”. Even in death, Dr. Main continued to inspire future generations.

In addition to his contributions to China, people loved and respected Dr. Main for his quick wit and lively personality. He thrived in his work, always considering the health – mind and body – of others. What a coincidence that decades later, naked is also spreading a healthy lifestyle to the people of China!

A Government Official, Businessman and Patriot

Zhang Jingjiang was born into a silk merchant’s family on September 19, 1877. He backed historical figures Dr. Sun Yatsen, Chiang Kaishek and Cai Yuanpei, and was known as one of four patriarchs of the Kuomintang. Dr. Sun Yatsen called him “Qi Ren” or “Geming Sheng Ren” meaning “The Man” and “Revolutionary Saint”; Chiang Kai-shek called him a “Revolutionary Mentor”.

Between 1928 and 1930, when Zhang Jingjiang was Chairman of Zhejiang, he created the Moganshan Bureau with a single goal of taking back the land and villas from the foreigners who occupied Moganshan at that time, including Dr. Main’s famous “castle” villa, which was then used as the office for the Moganshan Bureau. In 1932, when Zhang Jingjiang was part of the board for Jiangnan Auto Company, the company bought The Castle outright from Dr. Main’s son. Its name was officially changed to “Green Shade Inn”, and it was used to entertain power players in politics and business. In 1937, Zhang Jingjiang left China, and The Castle began to deteriorate.

naked Discovers The Castle Ruins and the Legend Continues

In 1960, this legendary villa collapsed, and its storied past fell into slumber amid the surrounding forest. However, its splendor could not remain concealed for long. In 2007, naked discovered the site of ruins, rediscovering the history, rebuilding and restoring The Castle to its former glory.

naked Story

naked Home and naked Stables are known for luring thousands of Chinese to escape from their glamorous yet high-strung city life to return back to nature. After ten years, naked enjoys the reputation of being the most sought after resort in the region.

Had he not met his future wife, architect Delphine Yip, in 2007, who later designed naked Stables, entrepreneur Grant Horsfield would have returned to South Africa. Despite the great opportunities in Shanghai, stress is everywhere, and people willingly trade life itself for success. Grant was constantly homesick for the beautiful nature and active, healthy lifestyle.

He stumbled upon a little village in Moganshan after getting lost on his bike in a bamboo forest. It was love at first sight, and he built a little resort there and named it “naked Home”. It was a place to rediscover the pure, playful, and passionate side of your heart. Finally they could return to nature to nurture friendship, love and the simple pleasures of life. In 2011, Grant and Delphine built the much larger naked Stables in a valley in Moganshan. In 2016, naked Castle, the highly anticipated new resort along with its century of history, opens its doors.

Green Initiatives

Through various advanced green technologies and integrated sustainable design, naked Castle minimises impact to the environment and maximises the use of natural resources. Below are some of the technology and techniques that we have employed to keep Moganshan and the world Green!

Castle Design

The Castle design is rooted in that of a classic European castle, combined with artistic elements from the golden time of Dr. Main’s original “Villa #1”. From the cellar to the roof, the design of each floor evolves from rustic to modern. The Castle design shows the collision and integration of a variety of art and culture from that time, which is a tribute to an age of adventure and inspiration.

Aesthetics of The Castle

From the outside, The Castle is raw, staggering and exclusive - inspired by the aesthetics of a European castle. The Bell Tower is one of the Castle's highlights, designed according to the historic plans and photos of the original villa. naked is dedicated to having an authentic connection to the Castle's history and have merged traditional elements of the Castle with some modern elements.

Art Deco

Art Deco is a design style using bold lines and simple shapes, which were embraced in the glamorous international cities of New York and Shanghai. This design style emerged in the early 20th century during an era of wild innovation, and exuberant luxury. The Castle references this golden era by reintroducing the style into parts of the interiors to represent the vibrant era we currently live in.

Respect for History

A large rock, engraved with the word “Glenturret”, was discovered during the early excavation of the construction site; it is coincidentally the name of the oldest existing hand-crafted whiskey brand. The origin of the connection between the brand and the original owner remains a mystery. The rock was preserved and placed by the entrance of the Glenturret Bar as a symbol of respect for the history and origins of The Castle.

莫干山传奇

1910年,苏格兰传教士医师梅藤更建造了英式城堡别墅(裸心堡城堡前身)他在中国奉献了45年,奠定杭州先进的医学,而他所传扬的健康生活理念,直至今日仍影响着人们。下一位拥有者是曾任浙江省主席,更被孙中山尊称为“革命圣人”的爱国推手—张静江先生,两位城堡主人虽未曾谋面,但在那动荡年代里,写下了无数令后人感动,具传奇色彩的篇章。

飘洋过海,梅滕更对莫干山的爱

城堡建立者梅滕更医师,生于1856年6月6日,苏格兰艾尔郡人。1881年,梅滕更从医科毕业,英国基督教圣公会安排他前往中国,他和身为护士的妻子佛罗伦斯.南丁格尔.史密斯启程中国,来到杭州。

1910年,55岁的梅医师买下位在炮台山的75亩地建造了英式古堡式的别墅(裸心堡城堡的前身),林子里还设有网球场、游泳池和用来散步的长径。当时因山上缺乏医疗资源,这栋当年莫干山最具标志性的一栋别墅,不仅供梅滕更一家和医院员工避暑,还是外籍人士养病的地方,许多动人的故事发生在此 。1926年,71岁的梅医师退休回到苏格兰。他总共创立了30多家医院、救济院和医学院,尤其是广济医院已拥有3间手术室,可照护4000位住院病人,是全国最大,技术、管理最先进的西医医院之一。1934年8月30日,梅滕更医师跑完人生的旅程,安息在主怀中。后人在苏格兰的墓碑上刻著四个字“仁爱而劳”,将他的精神流传后世。

人们敬爱和尊重梅医师在中国创造的一切,也喜欢他敏捷的思维和活泼的性格。他热爱他的工作,总是心心念念他人身体和心灵的健康,多巧,这与裸心一直在宣扬的回归自然,健康生活的意念不谋而合。

张静江,亦官亦商的爱国推手

张静江,1877年9月19日,生于丝绸巨商世家 。他曾是孙中山、蒋介石、蔡元培等历史大人物背后的幕后推手,国民党四大元老之一。孙中山称他为“奇人”与“革命圣人”, 蒋介石则称他为“革命导师”。

1928-1930年期间,张静江作为浙江省主席,推动成立莫干山管理局,当时由大批外国人拥有的莫干山避暑地主权渐渐收回国有。而当初由梅滕更医师建造的城堡别墅,也在此时收编成为莫干山管理局的办公室。1932年,张静江凭借江南汽车公司董事的身份,以江南汽车公司名义将城堡从梅医师手中买下,改为“绿荫旅馆”,用来招待政商名流。1937年抗日战争爆发,张静江离开中国,城堡开始走向颓圮的命运。

裸心发现城堡遗址,续写传奇

1960年代这座传奇的城堡就这么倒下,而所有与之相关的故事都随之沈睡在森林中。然而,它的光芒始终无法被掩盖。2007年,裸心发现了这座遗址并予以重建,唤醒这些动人的历史并将续写它辉煌的未来。

裸心的由来

提到裸心品牌,人们就会想起回归简单质朴的自然生活。8年来,无论是裸心乡还是裸心谷,都代表着华东地区最令人向往的度假体验。

如果不是遇见了他未来的太太建筑师叶凯欣,就是后来裸心谷的设计师,南非帅哥高天成差一点回到南非。在上海这个大都市里,虽然到处都是机会,也到处都是压力,而太多的人愿意牺牲生活来换取成功。高天成无时不怀念南非美丽的自然山水和健康精彩的生活。在一次去莫干山骑车时,他在迷路中偶遇了一个让他一见钟情的小村庄。他在那儿建了个小小的度假村,取名“裸心乡”,意思是重寻纯朴好玩热情的初心,让自己和太太、朋友能够重归大自然,享受友情、亲情,在简单的快乐中重寻身心的平衡。2011年,高天成和太太在莫干山一片开阔的山谷中一起建造了裸心谷。2016年,万众瞩目,承载百年历史的传奇裸心堡隆重问世。

生态·环保

在裸心堡的建筑设计上,裸心秉持采用多种先进的环保工法,对大自然的能源馈赠做到物尽其用。这些具有开创性的环保工法,包括有效节能的地源热泵和太阳能板,以及环保的污水集中处理系统进行水循环利用。

设计理念

裸心堡的建筑灵感起源于欧式城堡的美学,又粹集了当初梅滕更医师建立的“莫干山一号别墅”的黄金时代的艺术时尚元素。自地窖逐级至上,每层的设计风格从中世纪粗犷逐步趋向摩登优雅,象征着两大风格、两个文化、两种时代的碰撞与交融。

城堡美学

裸心堡最大的灵感来自于欧洲城堡的建筑语言:外形粗犷、私密、居高临下,特别值得一提的是城堡的角楼:根据城堡前身的手稿图和仅存的一张模糊照片,我们可以依稀看到城堡一侧有独立的一座角楼,形似烽火台。烽火台自古以来作为行之有效的消息传递方式,夜间点火,台台相连,裸心堡将其还原,象征着将城堡与其见证的历史变迁与文化精神传递至今,永不遗忘。

装饰派艺术

装饰派艺术(Art Deco) 盛行于20世纪20-30年代的纽约和上海,诞生了众多国际性地标建筑,是一个时代的精神图腾,代表了一个时代的大胆、革新和对快乐的追求。为了纪念莫干山的黄金时代,我们大胆结合装饰派艺术元素与城堡美学,让外型极阳刚、坚硬的城堡能给客人带来令他们惊喜的温柔与时尚。

致敬历史

在裸心堡建立之初的挖掘中,一块巨石出土而现。巨石上被深深地雕刻上一个名字:Glenturret。根据调查发现,Glenturrent是著名的手工威士忌品牌,这一经典的威士忌老牌与我们的城堡或是前主人又有着某种渊源?我们也无从解答,便将这神秘的巨石完整地保留,并安放于格兰塔酒吧入口留作纪念