Our Commitment to Sustainability

naked Retreats is committed to sustainable design and operation, specifically preservation and regeneration of both the environment and communities in which we operate. As we provide creative and inspiring experiences for our guests, we do so in a pioneering fashion that challenges convention. Our core values guide us to do things we believe are good, beautiful and right. For example, we:

  • Employ local staff and service providers whenever possible
  • Reduce waste generation through compost and recycling systems that support the local community
  • Support the local economy featuring local resources on site, buying locally grown food and purchasing regionally sourced building materials
  • Manage guest energy use with energy metres installed on all units and incentives given to reduce energy consumption
  • Purchase locally and in bulk to minimise transportation and excess packaging
  • Recycle water within resorts via private water filtration systems to minimise usage
  • Contribute to local communities through employment, trainings and career enhancement opportunities
  • Use biodegradable and environmentally friendly soaps, cleaning agents and products whenever possible
  • Organise long-running environmental education programs involving members from the local government and community, as well as students from local and international schools
  • Promote environmental awareness amongst staff, guests and local community with green trainings and leading by example

DesignBuildOperate

We design, build and operate our own resorts. Our properties meet the highest standards in design excellence, building quality, energy conservation and environmental friendliness, offering luxurious comfort and top tier service. Simply put: because we design and build our own resorts, we know how to make the best use of them.

  • Design
    naked Retreats’ properties are designed by Delphine Yip-Horsfield, wife of naked Group Founder Grant Horsfield. Previously a partner at Ben Wood Studio Shanghai, renowned for Shanghai’s Xintiandi, other “tiandi” projects in China and numerous Asia resorts. For naked Retreats, Delphine created a design that fit into the natural setting and environment, bringing guests as close as possible to nature, in comfort, striving for a sense of home, peace and tranquility.
  • Build
    All construction is overseen and managed by the naked Retreats team to ensure the highest quality of execution. We work with local materials and traditional crafts, as well as state-of-the-art construction techniques.
  • Operate
    We put as much care into operating our resorts as we do in creating them. Our aim is to provide personalised, professional services, with a naked touch. That means using local staff and resources, purchasing local produce, reducing energy consumption and waste, without compromising on comfort and guest experience. Thus, our guests find themselves in a relaxing, restorative retreat accompanied with a sense of fulfillment.

naked Stables – LEED Platinum Certification

To build a brand new stylish resort in a remote, forested valley was an incredible challenge. It was also a wonderful opportunity to do things ‘right’, right from the beginning. naked Stables (Tree Top Villas and Earth Huts) has been awarded LEED (Leadership in Environmental Energy Design) Platinum Certification.

LEED is recognised globally as the leading voluntary system for benchmarking and rating the world’s top green buildings. At naked Stables we aimed to achieve sustainability in each of LEED’s five key areas of human and environmental health with the goal of attaining the highest possible certification, LEED Platinum.

Site Development

At conception, the purpose of naked Stables was to “return to nature”. For this reason, maintaining the natural environment around the resort was the first priority and was a central theme throughout construction. Examples of solutions we implemented include:

  • Reintroducing wildlife to the site
  • Narrow road spaces
  • Protection of natural fauna and flora
  • Recycling program for all resort waste
  • Uncut tree lines
  • On site organic garden
  • Site location and orientation
  • Compost program for kitchen and vegetable waste
  • Green roof
Water Efficiency

Our water strategy for naked Stables is: Reduce, Reuse, & Treat. As a first mandate, we reduce our overall water demand, thus cropping the problem of consumption at its source. Next, natural features are used to collect and then reuse as much water as possible without having to draw from the local aquifer. As a final stage, outgoing water is treated and then fed back into the resort’s water cycle at the highest standard of quality. Overall, the hotel consumes over 30% less water than a typical hotel, due to the following strategies:

  • Closed loop water system
  • Wetland filtration of run off Water
  • Rainwater collection from roofs and roads for grey water recycling 
  • Use of low flow bathroom fixtures and dual flush toilets/waterless urinals
  • Work closely with PACT Shanghai for grey and black water treatment
  • All waste water is recycled in two unique containerised treatments plants and reused for irrigation
  • Toilet flushing is from treated lake water naturally replenished from the surrounding hills’ run off
Energy Efficiency

The philosophy behind naked Stables’ energy efficiency is an “energy pyramid”. This concept states that to truly reduce consumption, energy demand must first be reduced before alternative energy sources can be explored. As a final step, offsetting remaining energy use can be considered. The combination of these solutions allows us to achieve energy savings of up to 35% compared to standard buildings. Main strategies utilised include:

  • Solar hot water heaters for preheating water
  • Energy metre installed on all units to monitor guests’ energy use
  • Centrally controlled outdoor lighting
  • Bamboo pellet boiler for heating (bamboo pellets come from a factory 20 minutes away from site)
  • LED and compact fluorescent lamps throughout the property
  • High insulation value for all exterior walls and windows
  • Maximised natural day lighting and ventilation for all buildings
  • Use of double glazed Low E glass for doors and windows
  • Energy efficient water sourced heat pumps to heat and cool buildings
  • Main site accessed by golf carts only, powered by solar power recharging stations
  • Villas equipped with heat recovery units to reduce energy consumption
Materials Selection

The objective for naked Stables was always to be an example of sustainable luxury in nature. This can be seen in the selection of materials used throughout the entire property. All products have been individually chosen for their aesthetic value as well as their environmental impact. Conscious materials selection includes:

  • Over 50% of new wood is certified by FSC (Forest Stewardship Council)
  • Reuse of old windows and doors
  • Use of carbonised bamboo flooring, a renewable material
  • Railway sleepers used as entryway stairs
  • 90% of all construction materials are sourced in nearby areas within a radius of 800 km
  • Spa made from all reclaimed/reused wood
  • Over 95% of construction waste was recycled
  • Rammed earth
  • Limited use of cement
  • Use of regional materials, such as bamboo
  • Use of recycled old wooden roof trusses, columns, column bases, window frames, bricks and roof tiles
Indoor Environmental Quality

As a luxury resort, while interior finishes and decoration are aimed at style and luxury, the maximisation of indoor occupant health and well-being is equally important. A healthy interior space is achieved by:

  • No smoking indoors
  • Low emitting materials
  • Ventilation performance
  • Daylight and views
  • CO2 monitoring

我们倡导可持续发展

裸心度假村在设计和运营上都倡导可持续发展理念,尤其是在建造过程中极大程度地保留和利用自然环境。我们打破传统惯例成为可持续发展的先锋,为了给客户提供更加创新和难忘的体验,这些独特的核心价值观引领我们一直在做真善美的事情,例如:

  • 无论何时都雇佣当地的雇员和服务
  • 保护当地环境,利用循环系统对废物进行循环利用
  • 支持当地的经济,充分利用资源,购买当地种植的食材和当地生产的建材
  • 鼓励客人与我们一起加入可持续性的行为
  • 坚持从当地大批量购买以减少交通以及包装费用
  • 使用特有的净水方式对水资源进行净化以减少浪费
  • 通过雇佣当地员工,培训以及增加当地就业机会来回馈当地社区
  • 使用能生物降解的环保肥皂以及清洁用品
  • 为当地的政府,学校以及国际学校组织长期的环境教育项目
  • 为当地劳动力提供训练并对员工进行可持续性相关教学

设计建造运营

我们的度假村由我们自己设计,建造和运营。确保在设计、建材、环保及节能方面都达到最高的标准之外,还要提供顶极的舒适环境以及最真诚的服务。毫无疑问,由我们亲手设计及建造的度假村,只有我们深切了解如何去经营它,才能将它的优点发挥得淋漓尽致。

  • 设计理念
    裸心度假村是由高天成的夫人叶凯欣及上海Benwood的建筑师共同设计。Studio Shanghai以设计上海的“新天地”闻名,除此之外,还有不少著名的建筑作品遍及中国及亚洲。裸心的设计,著重于和周围的自然环境融为一体,使客人能无拘无束的接近大自然。平和、静谧及家居情怀是我们在设计上的追求。
  • 建造原则
    所有的建造过程都在裸心团队的监管下进行,以确保达到最好的品质及最高的标准。建造过程以当地出产的建材以及传统的建筑工艺为主配合先进的施工技术进行。
  • 经营管理
    我们在经营方面的真心绝不亚于创建的用心。我们提供个人化又极具专业的服务品质,却不偏离“返璞归真”的初衷。在经营上,我们雇用本地人,利用当地资源,使用当地物产,尽量做到节约能源、减少浪费,最终却仍然能以提供最舒适的享受为傲。我们给予客人的不仅是一个在完全放松的环境里得以修复身心的地方,在互道珍重,挥一挥手,不带走一片云彩的时候,客人会觉得不虚此行,满载而归。

裸心谷 — LEED铂金认证

在森林密布的山谷建造一所全新的高端度假村本身就是一个巨大的挑战。这也正是一个让我们从头做“正确”事情的绝佳机会。裸心谷(树顶别墅和夯土小屋)获得LEED(绿色能源与环境设计先锋奖)铂金认证。

LEED是一个全球权威的评价绿色建筑的工具, LEED评估体系为五大方面:从可持续建筑场址、水资源利用、建筑节能与大气、资源与材料、室内空气质量,对建筑进行综合考察、评判其对环境可持续性的影响,而裸心谷获得了LEED最高认证级别——铂金认证。

选址

从概念上来说,裸心谷的建造初衷就是“回归自然”。正因为如此,在我们建造裸心谷时保持周围自然环境原貌就是我们的核心要求。
建造过程中我们对自然的保护包括:

  • 引入野生动植物
  • 狭窄的道路空间
  • 保护自然植被以及动物
  • 整个度假村配备循环系统
  • 不砍伐树木
  • 厨房垃圾采用堆肥系统
  • 选址和定位
  • 有机花园
  • 绿色屋顶
水资源能效

裸心谷的水资源管理策略是:减少使用,重复利用,关注水资源作为第一使命,我们从根源上减少用水的需求,其次,我们在不从土壤蓄水层取水的前提下尽可能得利用天然水资源。最终水资源经过我们高品质的净化处理进入度假村的水循环体系。总的来说,裸心谷比传统的酒店节约30%的水资源,主要有以下几方面的原因:

  • 封闭式水循环系统
  • 采用节水的浴室用具和双冲水马桶
  • 雨水到我们的灰水蓄水池从而用于水循环
  • 排出的水进入人工湿地系统
  • 与上海PACT环保公司合作,所有废水都会在两个集装箱式的处理工厂精心循环并用于灌溉。冲洗马桶的水用的是净化过的山间泉水以及雨水堆积而成的水。
能源能效

裸心谷能源管理策略是“能源金字塔”,这一原理表明,要真正减少消耗,就要在可替代能源发现之前减少需求。最终,可以考虑抵消剩余的能源,正是这两种方案让我们能够实现比普通楼房节约35%的能源,主要措施如下:

  • 我们使用太阳能热水器来预热水温
  • 监测客人的能源消耗,我们鼓励客人积极减少能源消耗
  • 户外照明采用中央控制
  • 竹制的热水器(原材料来自距度假村20分钟路程的工厂)
  • 使用LED灯和节能灯
  • 墙壁和窗户都有良好的隔音效果
  • 最大限度的使用自然光和通风
  • 门窗均使用双层防辐射玻璃
  • 采用节能的制热和制冷系统
  • 度假村内只限太阳能电动高尔夫车通行
  • 度假村配有热回收部件帮助减少能源消耗
物料选择

裸心谷一直致力于打造高端可持续的做法,这在我们选择整个度假村的物品时得以体现。没一件物品都经过我们细致的挑选,充分考虑它的实用性以及对环境的影响,主要包括以下:

  • 超过50%的木头经过森林管理委员会批准使用
  • 重复利用旧的门窗
  • 使用可再生的碳化竹地板
  • 利用铁路的枕木作为进门的楼梯
  • 90%以上的建材都购于附近800公里内
  • 水疗中心全部使用重复再生的木头
  • 超过95%的建筑废料都得到了回收利用
  • 夯土
  • 尽可能少使用水泥
  • 使用本地材料,例如竹子
  • 使用循环利用的木头桁架,柱子,柱基,窗框,砖块和瓦
室内环境质量

作为奢华度假村,除了内部装饰追求品质与奢华外,使用者的健康与舒适同样重要,我们主要以以下的方式来实现健康的室内环境:

  • 室内禁止吸烟
  • 使用低辐射的材料
  • 优质的通风设备
  • 充足的自然光和宽阔的视野
  • 二氧化碳监测器